Peru Connection

Gathering Support and Love to send Lorissa to Peru

Jump Right In May 8, 2010

Filed under: Trip Details — rissabell @ 9:44 am

How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.

~Anne Frank

Photo belongs to Palentino (flicker)

While I’m in Peru, I’ll be spending approximately 6 hours per day working and helping in a local orphanage. The children need help with homework and lots of time and attention.

According to the lead agency, the orphanage can be “chaotic, understaffed and disorganized” which is why they largely rely on volunteer energy and ideas. They suggested that I come prepared to “jump right in” and have games and activities I can introduce to the children.

I’ve decided to come prepared with a small arsenal of activities. Here is what I’ve thought of so far:

1. exercise and yoga

Yoga Pretzels Cards

2. Story time

Bilingual and Spanish children's books

3. Therapeutic group time

4.  SOCK PUPPETS!!

 

 

 

Photo from pinprick/amanda: flicker

I haven’t started gathering the supplies for the sock puppets yet, so if you have any craft supplies that might be useful just lying around the house waiting to be loved, please feel free to send them along to me! Here is a list of things I’m searching for:

colorful socks

googly eyes

felt

yarn

glue

scissors

pom poms

pipe cleaners

sequins

etc.

I’m extending the “jump right in” invitation along to you! I could use help buying and collecting items. Perhaps you’re a teacher and would like to have your class help bring donations.

If you’d like to help by donating some simple (lightweight) art supplies for this project, please let me know. You can bring them by my house, drop them in the mail or I can stop by and pick them up.

 

One Response to “Jump Right In”

  1. Ruth Says:

    Wow, Riss–I am both inspired by all this and so proud. I know I’ve said it before. But I’m always letting things sink in.


Leave a Reply

