Peru Connection

Gathering Support and Love to send Lorissa to Peru

I Made It! June 6, 2010

Filed under: Trip Details — rissabell @ 2:40 pm

After a very long of traveling, I have arrived in Cuzco.

The last 24 hours has set my world spinning.

On the way from Miami to Lima it all started getting much more challenging for me. Let´s just say that I was tired and I really wanted everyone to follow the same rules and give me my space and understand what I was saying. I think I was a little grouchy. I slept for about 3 hours on the plane and then went through customs in Lima.

My original flight from Lima to Cuzco at 6:45 am this morning was cancelled. I felt like I was in a scene from ¨Meet The Parents” as the stewardess stood there behind the counter for literally 10 minutes typing intensely and silently. Not kidding. My heart started fluttering at that point and literally hasn´t stopped.  It was very difficult to find the proper coins to use the payphone and even more difficult to understand how to work the payphone, but I had to call the Maximo Nivel people to tell them I was delayed.

The traveling has been such a rush of new experiences. Then in Lima most of the employees at the airport were Spanish speaking and I wasn´t prepared for that.  Plus, this is embarassing, but due to the lack of sleep and length of traveling, I forgot about the unsafe water and totally brushed my teeth in the airport in Lima. So now I am praying that I don´t get sick.

So, now that you´ve heard a few of my worries, let me tell you about the other details!

I´m staying in a local home about a 10 minute´s walk from the Maximo Nivel Center.  Their house is on the fourth floor of a small apartment rise and the views are gorgeous. The woman is so warm and welcoming and taking good care of us. I´m sharing a room with another volunteer and there is a third volunteer in another room in the same house. Today we showed up and drank Matcha tea, then unpacked our things into dressers in our room and then I got to take a warm shower and take a nap. Then we ate almuerzo (lunch) which was 3 courses, a yummy pasta soup, followed by Ahi de Gallino which is a curry type sauce with chicken, rice, potato, eggs and olive, finished off with sliced bananas covered in maple syrup. I´m sure for one thing, I will not starve here!

 

6 Responses to “I Made It!”

  1. Tiffany Baker Says:

    I’m so glad you made it safely AND that you could let all of us know that you made it safely! You are brave and amazing and you are IN PERU!!! Love you. =)

  2. Nicole Says:

    I am smiling thinking about you right now! Sounds wonderful!!!

  3. Kim Mellberg Says:

    Hey Lorissa! So glad you made it despite the challenges! I am so proud of you girl! Thinking of you! XOXO

  4. MelissaHouser Says:

    I’m glad you made it safely! Have a wonderful journey! Prayers and blessings to you, my friend!

  5. Dixie Zerr Says:

    YEAH!!! What an accomplishment – We are SO proud of you!!! I’m sure I wouldn’t have handled your challenges quite as well as you did!!! Now, you can enjoy what you’ve worked hard for – spending time with the children and bringing sunshine to their lives!!! ENJOY!!! Love You Lorissa!!

  6. The Eikelberner family Says:

    HOORAY! We are so happy to hear you arrived safely and can’t wait to hear more. We are constantly thinking about you and those lucky children who get to spend time with wonderful you! xoxo Em, Joe, Jack & Adam


Leave a Reply

